• featured
  • verified

Central Highlands Council

Tasmania's finest
  • 0 ( 0 votes)

Government & Associations



Central Highlands Council is a local government body in Tasmania, encompassing the Central Highlands region of the state. Central Highlands is classified as a rural local government area and has a population of 2,141, the two largest towns are Bothwell and Hamilton.

Central Highlands was established on 2 April 1993 after the amalgamation of the Bothwell and Hamilton municipalities.

Central Highlands is the least densely populated local government area of Tasmania, with only 0.3 people per square kilometre. The municipality is classified as rural, agricultural and medium (RAM) under the Australian Classification of Local Governments.

It covers most of the mountainous centre of the state, also known as the Central Plateau which contains the Central Plateau Conservation Area including sections of the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area, as well as the Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, and Walls of Jerusalem National Park. Other smaller reserves of different status occur in the region as well.

No content available.

No content available.

No content available.

0 Reviews

Information : No Reviews Found.

Leave Your Rating

  • Ease of Appointment
  • Promptness
  • Courteous Staff

Leave Your Review


Loan Calculator